Minor in Philosophy


A Philosophy Minor gives students in various disciplines an opportunity to engage in the study of philosophy. This will help them develop critical thinking, reflective consciousness, and other transferable skills, which can strengthen their disciplinary studies and enable them to better adapt to changing circumstances of the world.


The Philosophy Minor requires at least 5 courses (15 AUs), including 2 core courses (6 AUs) and 3 electives (9 AUs).

Core Courses (6 AUs):
  • HY1001 Intro to Philosophy (3 AUs)

  • HY1002 Logic and Paradoxes (3 AUs) OR HY8002 Logic and Critical Thinking

Elective Courses
(9 AUs, choose 3 from below):
  • HY2002 Moral Philosophy (3 AUs)

  • HY2003 Chinese Philosophy (3 AUs)

  • HY2005 Justice, Society, and the State (3 AUs)

  • HY2008 Environmental Ethics (3 AUs)

  • HY3010 Philosophy of Science (3 AUs)

  • HY3011 Minds and Machines (3 AUs)

Or other relevant courses approved by the Programme Coordinator.

Additional courses the programme coordinator has approved include but not limited to: 

  • HY2010 Ancient Philosophy: The Examined Life

  • HY2012 Modern Philosophy: Reason and Experience

  • HY3001 Existentialism: Freedom, Being, Death

  • HY3003 World Religions

  • HY3004 Faith and Reason

  • HY4002 Knowledge and Reality

  • HY4010 Special Topics in Philosophy of Science

  • HY4011 Special Topics in Ethics

  • HY4112 Special Topics in Philosophy

  • HY4113 Special Topics in Chinese Philosophy